New Mac User navigating the world of graphics requests help.

Reaction score
Greetings.

I am new to the world of mac, receiving a new iMac recently as a gift. Man, i wish would have made "the switch" sooner!

Previously I used a very old version of photoshop for graphics design and utilized microsoft publisher for design of pamphlets for my business.

Now that I have made the switch, I have transitioned into GIMP for mac for my graphics design needs and have yet to find a replacement for publisher. My questions are as follows.

1) Is there an "easier" way to do text effects in GIMP than the tutorials I have found online? (example :30 GIMP Text Effect & Typography Tutorials Collection) In photoshop, I could do some basic text effects with just a couple clicks of the mouse. GIMP does not seem to have that functionality.

2) Is there a suitable replacement for Publisher in the mac world? this does not have to be anything overly elaborate, as my pamphlet designs are fairly simple (some text over a faded picture is about the extent of the "fanciness"

Thank you very much for any input you can give.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
You have 2 easy choices, there are more but I am narrowing it down to 2.

Unfortunately, dont expect to find a conversion tool for MS Publisher - its notorious in the design world for not exporting or transferring to any other program without spending a lot of money.

1. Scribus - an open source DTP program similar to Publisher - give it a try it's completely free
Scribus - Scribus.net

2. Apples pages - a great easy to use layout app that comes with some good templates and will set you back $15 - I think, my link to the app store gives me a pounds sterling cost

Oh, and just to add, if you want a more mac like alternative to GIMP, there is Seashore, based on GIMP but a more mac like photo editor
http://seashore.sourceforge.net/The_Seashore_Project/About.html