Brand new iMac (Lion) w/ printer problems.... GRRRR!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 2011 - iPhone 5
Just bought a brand spanking new iMac. Tried connecting my 5 year old Canon MP600 to it and I did so by downloading the drivers from the Canon website. It seemed a little TOO easy. Worked perfectly for a week, now the printer is offline and refuses to print anything. I've read a lot of different info on this same problem, but nothing has helped.

Yes, I have already:
(1) reinstalled drivers
(2) checked all cords and plugs
(3) done test printing pages to make sure the printer is fully functional.. and it is
(4) reinstalled drivers for a 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6TH time
(5) checked ink, checked everything

I am brand new to Mac, so maybe I didn't delete the drivers correctly before reinstalling? I've opened System Prefs and looked in the scan/print section. I've tried ADDING a new printer and my Canon shows up nowhere.

If it never worked with my new Mac to begin with, I would just say it's not compatible.. but since it JUST worked PERFECTLY, I'm convinced it's something stupid I have to do.. I hope. I can always use an SD card to print, but that's sucky.

ANY and ALL help would be much appreciated :)

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
First, determine if your Canon MP 600 might have died. Do you have another computer at home? Even a PC that you can test it with?

It does seem strange that a printer which was working for a week would just quit. I'm not at all impressed with Canon drivers especially for wireless as I have had some difficulty with a newer wireless model. But if the printer worked for a week, the drivers must have been OK.

OP
RauschIt
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 2011 - iPhone 5
I wouldn't even begin to try to do a wireless printer. I'd probably never get it to work.