HELP! My iMac is frozen

Reaction score
I have a 3 yr old iMac with no warranty. Last night while doing homework ( I am a graphic design student) my computer froze. The cursor moved but clicking on anything didn't work. I restarted, unplugged, held down various keys when shutting down or restarting, nothing worked. At 2 am I unplugged it and went to bed and prayed.

The same problem still exists. I don't know what I'll do if I can't use my computer with all the projects I'm working on. Do you have any suggestions?

One other time Apple support had me hold keys downs on my keyboard while holding down the start button until the computer shut down but the restarted, all while continuing to hold down these keys. Does this sound familiar to anyone?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
Try restarting with the OPTION key held down. That will give you a list of bootable volumes on your system.

You may need to boot from your install disc and run Disk Utility to see if your hard drive is working. You may also want to run the Apple Hardware Test. You can also try Safe Mode. Here's a list of the various startup options:

Startup key combinations for Intel-based Macs

Reaction score
I got on the MacForum to ask a similar question to this one, so instead, I add to it. I have a 13" MBP mid 2010 running OSX 6.8. I usually use it as a desktop with an external monitor, a Logitech wireless keyboard and a Logitech Vwhatever bluetooth mouse. No previous problems, at least none I couldn't figure out.