which mbp for photography?

Reaction score
Right now I have a macbook 2.2ghz core 2 duo and 2.5 gigs of ram, its been great for the years I have had it but its a little slow nowadays. I mostly use my mac for internet browsing and my desktop for everything else like transferring photos and using lightroom along with cs5 photoshop. I use a canon 5d and canon 7d and the files are typically around 20-30 megabytes each. I don't really care about screen size cause I am fine on my 13inch mac right now.
Which macbook pro could run say lightroom, photoshop cs5 and maybe firefox at the same time while im editing and have it run smoothly or without over heating?
Should I go refurbished or new? I'm a student maybe theres a discount?

Thanks in advance guys
-Matt

-edit-are these a fairly new generation of mbp, or is there a new update due soon?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 duo processor 4 GB of memory 300 GB HD imac, 8GB Ipod Touch 4th generation
Im not sure if there are new MBP on the way or if these are recent but I would think that the more expensive version of the 13 inch should do it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MB Pro, 2.66 i7 ; 11” MBA 1.8GZ i7; 13"MBA 2GZ i7 8 GB mem 512GB SSD, 2 iPad3s, 1 iPad Mini
I am a photographer and use

a mid 2010 MB Pro, 2.66 GHz i7 processor, 8 gig of ram, 500 gig 7200 RPM HDD 15" for most of my work. It drives an Apple 27" monitor. I have far too many images to store on that drive so I use several external 1 terabyte drives and a 500 gig GoFlex Satellite wifi drive as well.

My traveling machine is a late 2011 MBAir 11" with 1.8 GHz dual core 1&, 4 gig of ram, 256 SSD internally and the above externals.

These tools work well for me and I use a number of bodies including the Canon 5DII and iD III (waiting for the 1DX).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM
photo editing... 3 words: Screen Real Estate.