Confused about reinstalling iMac OS

Reaction score
Hi gang-
I work in the music industry here in Nashville, and both of my Macs are used primarily for audio work.
I have a May 2010 Macbook Pro 13" that I have no problem with, I have all of it's original disks and it came with Snow Loepard

Here's my issue- I bought an 20" iMac (2.4 C2D, 4GB) in February of 2009 that came loaded with 10.5 Leopard. I have all the original iMac install disks.

-I've never reformatted the HD, and its way past due. It's a little sluggish & bloated, and I'd like to do a fresh install of the OS and all my software, especially Pro Tools etc.

-When Snow Leopard came out, I bought & installed the upgrade to my iMac, but I think the disk I have is one that will only install on a computer loaded with Leopard (?)

Ideally, I'd like to completely clean off my iMacs internal drive & do a "new from the factory"fresh install. I have a Time Machine backup of my files, so I was thinking I could use disk utility to do an overnight 7-pass erase of the drive in Target disk firewire mode from my Macbook Pro.

My question is, if I completely erase the hard drive for a fresh install, is my Snow Leopard disk going to allow me to install to the iMac, or is it going to tell me I need to have Leopard installed first?

I really don't want to install Leopard from the original iMac disks just to be able to install Snow Leopard if at all possible.

-Is there any way around any of this? Or do I have to search & buy a Snow Leopard full installer disk?

-Additionally, I need Snow Leopard currently instead of Lion because all of my audio software is not yet Lion compatible. But since the Lion upgrade installs on top of Snow Leopard, would I *REALLY* have to install Leopard/SnowLeopard/Lion on my iMac once everything is Lion compatible?? That just seems like WAY too complicated..

Thanks for any advice you guys & gals can give! :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs