Mac OS-X Back-Up: Time Machine, Super, Carbon Copy Cloner, Disk Utility?

Reaction score
Mac OS-X Back-Up: Time Machine, Super, Carbon Copy Cloner, Disk Utility?

Hello,

I am a relatively "new" Mac owner/user, coming from many years of using, (and still do), Windows based computer systems.

My current internal hard drive partition configuration is as follows:

1.) Mac OS-X Lion

2.) Mac OS-X Snow Leopard (for the programs that won't run under Lion).

3.) Windows 7

My initial questions are regarding and resolving around (back-up) methods, preferences, Pros & Cons of each?

I know that the built-in Apple/Mac software choices are:

1.) Disk Utility - to create (DMG) Images

2.) Time Machine (still learning, need more knowledge about this).

The third (3rd) party offerings, that I'm familiar with and have used are:

1.) SuperDuper

2.) Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC)

Ok, basically, as I am still very new to the "World of Apple/Mac" (sounds like a book title) - :) ,
which back-up program (scheme, so to speak), covers the most efficient, and most proficient method do you use and why, or not use and why not?

I'm not actually looking for praising on product over the other, or "cutting down/disproving), any other,
I just wanted to see if I can receive "fast" (relatively simple, but concise advice, tips, and/or suggestions, as to the most chosen program to use?

I know it's generally speaking, a "personal" choice.

I've already succeeded - in backing-up my Windows 7 OS system partition - using "WinClone" successfully,
to back-up (from within the Mac OS-X environment), with great results creating the WinClone image.

I was thinking, (wondering actually) - Does Time Machine create bootable back-ups ("capturing" BOTH of the Mac OS-X systems, together?

Meaning: If I use Time Machine and allow it to "Automatically" run as IT SEES the necessity to do so,