Using iPad as hard drive for photo shoots - possible?

Reaction score
HI there,

I'm a professional photographer and I will get an iPad 2 soon. I hadn't planned on getting one, but one of my colleagues is selling it for very little money, so I can't resist.

I have a brand new iMac at home and my old MacBook is pretty much broken and horrible to work with. So I was thinking: Is it actually possible to use the iPad on set instead of the Macbook? Is there any way to transfer my RAW files directly from a CF-card or USB-Port of the camera to my iPad, for later editing at home? Also, will there be the possibility to organize and even view them on the iPad itself?

Has anyone ever tried it? What apps, accessories and possibilities are there in general, or am I simply disillusional?

Help is much appreciated! :)

Cheers,
Sandra

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
Hi Sandra, and welcome to the Mac Forums! Yes, what you want to do is entirely possible. In fact, you can shoot tethered (wirelessly) with an iPad while your client holds it, and soft proofs in the process. First, let me point you to an CF card adapter: http://store.micgadget.com/card-readers/280-ipad-2-cf-card-camera-connection-kit.html

Then check out this video by Lee Morris, which goes over tethered shooting with an iPad. There are some great apps out there that are used for keeping an portfolio during the process, which I believe he also goes into a tad.
http://fstoppers.com/ipad

One thing I'll say about tethering, is that it's going to be a pain in the rump to do with an CF card, since there are no manufacturer's that produce the same type of Eye fi card as the one you'll see. They only deal with SD cards. It's possible to get an adapter, but it is said that the adapters kind of kill the range of your wireless signal, as well as shorten the life span of the actual CF card.

Doug

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs