Help me choose an iMac

Reaction score
I'm thinking about getting a Mac. I... I dunno. I still kind of love Windows 7, but things have come up and I need a computer to serve as a sort of "work" computer alongside my Windows PC which serves me more as a computer for playing games, messing around with programing, watching movies, and other relatively frivolous things.

Anyway, I'm a writer, and I've lately decided to try and take my career more seriously. To do that, I think I need a computer that's going to allow me to more efficiently write, publish, and promote my work. I could do all of that from my Windows 7 computer, but let's face it. I've had to begrudgingly accept the fact that Macs are generally a more efficient platform for things like graphic design, publishing, video editing, and other related tasks.

Looking at Apple's website, I've sort of narrowed my choice of computer down to the 21.5 inch iMacs which seem to be the best value for me and most suitable to my needs. It's at this point where I'm a little bit torn between the $1199 and $1499 ones.

To be honest, the $1199 one probably offers as much computer as I'm going to need, at least for the foreseeable future. Additionally, I'm not too sure if the extra $300 really gets you much. I mean, obviously the more expensive one is mildly more powerful and has a larger hard drive, but I'm not sure if those differences are really significant enough to justify paying the extra money for. I'm just worried that, down the road, I'm going to be kicking myself and wishing I'd spent that little bit of extra money.