photographer needs your help - imac 2011 or Mac Pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 (4x2.5GHz)
Hi forum folks, I've only posted once before (and you were ace!), so forgive me if I muck up or forget something.
I'm a pro commercial photographer coming back from extended maternity leave (so limited cash flow) - and my trusty G5 has died (power unit, replacements 3rd party only, not worth fixing IMHO). I knew this day would come but hoped it wouldn't be when the Pro's were waiting for a refresh :-(
Heres a little on how I use my mac, I shoot in RAW and each image is about 70MB, with a typical shoot generating at least 300 shots. I use photoshop and bridge ALOT. I'll also be using lightroom or aperture to start cataloging my ridiculously large image library (to sit on an external HD or one I put in a MP).
My dilema is that I don't think I can hold off until the "possible" early 2012 refresh, but I'm really reluctant to pay through the nose for last years machine.... So I've been looking at imacs, the new lot look fast and tempting, but is it false economy for my business?
Theres a couple of things I really need your help with before I buy:
1. I currently have a 23 inch cinema display, about 5 or 6 years old, but works great - and has matte glass - so might I be daft to go imac gloss?
2. On MP, would I benefit from multiple cores? I don't render video or play games. Does an entry level (one 2.8 Quad, Nehalem) chew through stills slower than an 8 core Westmere?
3. I'm thinking I should go for 12GB (from crucial) in either imac or MP, enough?
4. If I went imac - could I use my display as a second screen (imac for pallets perhaps?) - is there even a way of doing it?