• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

LCD Displays - Pixel Response Rate -Advice needed!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini G4 1.25ghz 1gb Ram
Apologies in advance for the long post! :p

I'm a media production student and considering the options available to me for upgrading from my current flat panel imac g4 800mhz to a more powerful machine for video editing. I'm currently looking at various monitor options.

Having recently installed FCP 4 on my imac I found that footage I captured whilst moving the Mini-DV (Sony PD150) camera quite fast displayed oddly on my computer. It appeared to strobe and flicker. Footage recorded whilst holding the camera still was fine. Is this likely to be because the pixel response rate of my existing display is too slow? Or is it a memory issue, as my imac doesn't have too much.

I'm stuck for space, and in my new set up would prefer to stay with flat screen displays. Most websites I read suggest sticking with CRT monitors for editing, but has this advice yet become outdated? Anyone else out there editing video on LCD displays, what response rate do your monitors have? I see the Apple Cinema displays are on a 16ms response time, is this adequate?

L

lil