Advantages of truecrypt?

Reaction score
I am new to encryption but I think it is a very good idea. I have several back up external drives and while I am not a CIA agent they do contain lots of private financial info, medical and tax records, etc so it would be nice to encrypt them so if one is lost or stolen my data is safe.

I am wondering if there is any advantage to using truecrypt which seems to be the standard or is the encryption built into lion just as good?

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
I am new to encryption but I think it is a very good idea. I have several back up external drives and while I am not a CIA agent they do contain lots of private financial info, medical and tax records, etc so it would be nice to encrypt them so if one is lost or stolen my data is safe.

I am wondering if there is any advantage to using truecrypt which seems to be the standard or is the encryption built into lion just as good?

I have no idea of the comparative level of encryption, but I do know that Filevault2 (Lion's buit-in encryption) is seamless and transparent once you mount the drive and enter your password.
Is the same true with truecrypt? Is it free? and just how high a level of encryption do you need?
Regardless of the technology you use the NSA will almost certainly be able to recover your data if they wish. And, your standard thief is almost certainly not going to be able to, or willing to take the time to, attempt recovery.

IMO, unless there is some other overriding reason not to use Filevault2 instead of a 3rd party software package, I would go with Filevault2. (BTW: I would not have made this recommendation for the original Filevault FWIW).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Currently 13" Late 2010 MBA, 4GB/128GB; Early 2011 13" MBP, dual core i7 2.7ghz, 4gb ram, 500gb hd