Macintosh HD question

jif

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27' iMac i5 (2010)  iPad2  iPhone5  iPhone 4S  Apple TV2  iP
I got a 27inch 2.8ghz, quad core iMac, with a 1TB HDD, running 12gig of RAM

I'm not an expert with the gubbins that live inside my mac and I'm confused

when i look at my activity monitor, it tells me the space used is over 815 gig... leaving only 185 gig free (free space in disc usage)

now I'm worried what all that stuff is,

I'm the only user on the mac and when I check the the size of my user file, (using, right click - 'get info') I've only got about 340gigs of docs/pix/music

I run aperture, and I've emptied the trash bins in aperture and in the dock. (the aperture file will be in my pix and therefore part of the 340 gig.

If my stuff only takes 340 gig, why is activity monitor telling me the mac has more than double that amount of stuff

Can someone help me out and tell me why I've got hardly any space left....

thanks ever so much

OP
J

jif

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
he's screen shots of my activity monitor and my user info to make my post clear

Screen Shot 2011-10-15 at 15.11.35.png

Screen Shot 2011-10-15 at 15.12.03.png

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I highly recommend WhatSize for discovering where all the data is stored - it's been worth the money to me.

There are a couple of nice free ones like Disk Inventory X.

OP
J

jif

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
thanks for the reply, i'll have a look at that

the problem is, i know whats in my user files, but not the rest of the volume, and I'd be very worried about deleting stuff that I don't understand

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
What OS are you running?

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S