• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

VHS to DVD

K

Kaylene Brown

I am a newbie to movie editing and I need help. I have a VHS tape that I made and need to get it into a DVD before the tape wears out. I use it in teaching classes. I want to get the VHS video into the computer (G4) so I can record on a DVD. What kind and where do I get a cable to go from the VCR into the computer (if this is possible)? then back onto a DVD. I'm not too movie literate, so talk simple please. Thanks.

Reaction score
Not sure if you can do it directly via some magic cable. I bought one of these EyeTV TV tuners some time ago ( http://www.elgato.com/index.php?file=products_eyetvwonder ) which I used to convert my old videos to mpeg2. It's just a case of connecting the composite video leads from the video recorder to the eyetv box.

It depends on the quality of the original video though, but has worked well with some of my ancient ones.

I then used DVD Studio Pro to create the DVD, though you could probably just use something like ffmpegx and burn the output file in Toast.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB