Upgrading a Mac Mini (and partitioning hard drives!)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1 GiB RAM, 80 GiB hard drive, Intel GMA 950, SuperDrive
As I mentioned in my last post, I just bought a mid-2007 Mac mini (for extremely cheap!) after years of using iDevices and drooling over their desktop counterparts. The model I have has a Core 2 Duo and 1 GiB of memory. It's currently running Snow Leopard, but I think I want to upgrade to Lion, mainly for iCloud and the new improved iOS syncing.

Technically, at least, it looks like my Mac meets the upgrade requirements. Do any of you have experience running Lion on such a (comparatively) old computer? Should I bite the bullet?

My other question is about installing new memory. I know there are various tutorials around the Internet about how to do it. I have been working on PCs since I was about 8 years old, so I rather know my way around in there, but having to use a knife to get into the computer is...something of a new experience. Is there any real risk of damage to the Mac? And can I install 2 GiB in each slot, or is that unsupported?

Finally, and on a completely unrelated note, I have a 1 TiB external hard drive which basically contains my life. It's formatted in NTFS, which I understand is not super Mac-compatible. As I go through this ponderous process of juggling files, it occurred to me that I don't know how I should reformat the drive. EXT? FAT? HFS+? Which filesystem is best?

C

chas_m

First, yes -- I'm writing this on a 2007 BlackBook and it runs Lion great (prior to installing Lion I did upgrade the RAM to 3GB and put in a larger hard drive). You really need (as in NEED) more RAM, but yes it works fine, even with one of the crappiest graphics chipsets Apple ever used in a modern Mac (though of course some graphically intense programs run poorly on this old thing).