Macbook constantly mutes itself after restart

mkw

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.4GHz Intel, 4GB Memory - 1TB Time Capsule - iPhone 4S 16GB White - iPad 2 16GB White
Hello,

This is my first post as i'm still fairly new to the world of Apple.

First of all, I've got a 2010 macbook which i've been using for around 18 months problem free, until that i had only used Windows but don't hold that against me.

My problem now is that since i upgraded to Lion i seem to always be muted on start up. I can start the machine, look at the setting page for sound and the box will be ticked so i untick it and get sound, then i turn off when im done and the next time i start it i get the chime but when the desktop loads up and i check the sound again it's muted.

What i don't understand is why it's doing it but also if the machine was muted from the start i wouldn't hear the chime, would I?

The same also happens when i do a restart so it's not something that shutting down effects.

Any ideas? I've tried repairing permissions, running onyx and resetting the PRAM...

Hopefully someone will know what it is!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Try this: Open System Preferences, General. Go down to the area where it says "Number of recent items:" and remove the check (if it's there) in the box that states "Restore windows.............." Reboot.

Also make sure in System Preferences under Sound that you have removed the mute check from both the input and output options.

OP
M

mkw

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.4GHz Intel, 4GB Memory - 1TB Time Capsule - iPhone 4S 16GB White - iPad 2 16GB White
Right, i tried all that and still no joy.

Any more ideas? I'm beginning to wonder if i need to do a clean install?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs