PowerPoint 2011-Help importing style template

Reaction score
I'm new to Office 2011, and need help with how to import a style template for PowerPoint. I've already downloaded the style that I like, but I'm not sure how to import it into my existing slideshow (to change the theme). I've searched everywhere, but can't find the steps I need to take.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Let me see If I understand you correctly... You downloaded a new template for Powerpoint which has a style that you wish to use in an already existing Powerpoint file? Please clarify.

OP
O
Reaction score
Yes, that's correct. I have an existing presentation that I want to change the style of. I have a template (style theme) that I have downloaded, and am just wondering how to import it from my downloads into my existing presentation. Wondering if I need to move the file to a specific folder within the Microsoft Office folder in my Applications folder? I vaguely remembering having to do something similar with a Word template I had downloaded.

Hope I haven't made my question more confusing!

Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I'm not certain about specific style themes, however, a template that you downloaded should go here:

/Users/your user name/Library/Application Support/Microsoft/Office/User Templates/My Templates/

A rather long hierarchy but that's where all user templates other than what were supplied by MS should be placed. In Windows they get downloaded and installed automatically to the correct folder.

As far as adding the new style template to an existing PPTX, I'm not sure it's possible without copying the old PPTX to a new PPTX based on the style template you downloaded.