Question: Is it safe to install Adobe Flash Player on my iMac?

Reaction score
I'm new to iMac (not Apple products in general, just iMac), and I was wondering: is it safe to install Adobe Flash? One of the reasons I switched to Mac was to be virtually virus-free, and I don't want to possibly introduce anything that might compromise that. Any advice or experiences that could be shared would be much appreciated!

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Flash, like any other piece of software, will have its vulnerabilities - nothing is "virus proof." That said, as Buzzard2010 notes, there's nothing wrong with Flash.

C

chas_m

There aren't any viruses for the Mac, so apparently it is "virus proof," at least for the last decade or so. But "virus" does NOT mean the same thing "vulnerability" or "instability" and thus your question is a VERY FAIR ONE.

Flash has been seen time and time again as one of the *leading* (but not the only) source of security compromises and causes of instability in web browsers -- so much so that Chrome (not Apple) was the first browser to "sandbox" Flash away from other processes (most of the others quickly followed suit, including Safari).

My personal answer to your question is that as of Safari 5.1 and the other updated major browsers, it's safe enough to install Flash, particularly if you add in a manual blocker like "ClickToFlash" to "gatekeep" Flash use on a case-by-case basis. Most of what we see as Flash on websites are ads -- not that I mind ads so much, but annoying Flash ads really are the bane of the web -- so blocking Flash most of the time results in a net speed gain.