Macbook upgrading questions

Reaction score
Hi, I am completely new to macs and to this forum! Of course, I have many questions... :Blushing:

My girlfriend has gifted me her old macbook, purchased mid 2008. It's a 2.1 Core2Duo with a gigabyte of ram and (I think) 120Gigabyte 5400 HD. I'm wondering what to upgrade on the machine. Here are my thoughts:

Firstly, I'm definitely thinking of adding some ram, like 2, maybe 4 of these: Newegg.com - Mushkin Enhanced 1GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Memory for Apple Notebook Model 971504A.

Then also would love to get an SSD, but am not sure which one would be a good pair for the macbook. I also realize that OS X 10.5 doesn't support TRIM, though I'll probably upgrade to Tiger in a few months. Will this one work? Newegg.com - Kingston SSDNow V+100 KR-S1296-3H 2.5" 96GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

I haven't really figured out how good the battery still is, but it would probably pay off to replace it with a new one. Now, official replacement is $130. Has anyone had any luck with offbrand batteries for cheaper?

What are everybody's throughts on that? As you can see, I like tinkering with my hardware.;P But I'd like to make sure the computer performs its best, and I can continue using it for years into the future. Thanks for your time!

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
From the sounds of it, you have the same MB I do - a 2.1 C2D, early 08 MB. As for your RAM question, you only have two slots so you can't put in four chips. If you want 4GB of RAM, you'll need 2x2GB (preferable) or 1x4GB.

It would also seem that you have your OS X order mixed up - Tiger preceded Leopard (Tiger is 10.4, Leopard is 10.5). That machine can support Lion which I believe has at least limited TRIM support (I'll have to defer to someone else here for clarification).