• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Recording Streaming online Video

Reaction score
Hey Everyone!
This is my first post. Im not too tech savvy but hopefully I can also answer posts from other users. I'm a new mac user and loving it! So to get to it, this is my problem:

im a student, and I have lectures available on mediasite. The problem is, that our school will not let us view these off campus and it would be really nice to be able to record these lectures. Im gonna post a sample link to one of the lectures (im hoping this is legal :p) I can open this in the network source of VLC and get it to play. Using the saving features of VLC does not work, however, so it still is only a stream. Furthermore, this is really only part of the lectures from mediasite - the video recorded part. The slides and other media the professor uses I dont know how to get. I was thinking handbrake or maybe a paid program might be able to help me - but I would need some howto's and steps/ program names if anyone would be so kind.

Link: Lecture

I really appreciate everyone's help!!!!!