Apple Mail will not retrieve emails

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
OS 10.6.7, Mail 4.5

In trying to help a complete novice into the world of Apple applications and MacOS, we have run into a block wall, utterly immovable.

No matter what Mail prefs/settings are tried, Mail will not retrieve emails from the server (there is no problem sending via smtp).

Have spent hours (literally) with online and phone help at the ISP, testing different settings, but whilst test mails are going through okay, the user simply cannot retrieve them via Mail (Webmail okay).

Any brilliant thoughts before we ditch Mail altogether and try an email app that actually works?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Who is the email account with? Their ISP? If so, could you tell me what ISP so I can do some checking?

OP
hughvane
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
The ISP is Xtra-Yahoo, user @xtra.co.nz, Yahoo! New Zealand, server setting pop3.xtra.co.nz.

Pop3 port settings tries included 110 without SSL, and 993 with SSL.

Smtp ports used default settings of 25, or 465, or 587. At one stage custom port of 25 without SSL was tried.

As said, sending mail is not a problem. It is only receiving or retrieving via Apple Mail.

Despite its age, I'm a diehard Eudora fan, and Thunderbird assumes that the user will want IMAP, so does anyone have strong recommendations about alternative email clients for MacOS? For the user's sake, it has to be simple, ie. 'press button A to retrieve, press button B to send'.

Thanks ..... Hugh

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
The simplest mate I would suggest is Mail in Snow Leopard.

My ISP, Internode, changed both incoming and outgoing servers to