MBA "normal" temperature and fan speed

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm a new mac user...I've just bought a new MBA 13, with i5 processor.
I use windows pc since I was young (and still a lot...I'm a researcher in computer science), but this is my first experience with the mac world.

Now, there is something that worries me: I can see that my MBA has the CPU temperature at ~60 C, only with chrome open (no flash). Or ~75 C with only vlc open (watching a video). Or ~88 C with vlc + performing apps update from app store. Now, considering that my old laptop with i5 processor is always around 40 C...and reaches 65 only when running many applications, it seems a little to much to me.

Then I install a widget to monitor the fan (istat), and I can see that it reports "exahust 2000 rpm"...when only chomre is open (by the way, what does it mean exhaust?!?)...

Is this normal? What is your experience?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
All normal temperatures. The fan speed is close to normal also. Just don't operate the MBA on your lap or an area where the air can't circulate around it.

OP
W
Reaction score
All normal temperatures. The fan speed is close to normal also. Just don't operate the MBA on your lap or an area where the air can't circulate around it.

The MBA was on my desk...so it should have dissipated the heat properly.
You are saying that this is normal, that is reassuring.
Even so, I've read of user with lower temperature around...around 50-55 (which basically I never have).
Considering that my MBA has been bought yesterday, do you think I should ask for a new one?

Reaction score
As i write my cpu is 42 and fan speed is 1999

Don't read too much into the threads your reading on the net regarding fan speeds and cpu heat. Typically when something new is released lots of people like to carry out all types of tests and statistics on it.