system restoration

Reaction score
I am new in Mac OS .... I was trying to install windows xp on beside to Mac system on MacBookPro, I used BootCamp to repartition the HD , I sow two partitions equally ... then it rebooted and took me to Windows installation wizard, I chose partition f: to install windows .. it shows me the yellow bar continued ... when it finished i found a message :

Error reading disk
press any key to restart

but you can't do anything ... i lost Mac and windows ... only when you press option while you bootstrap you will get only windows but not working ... goes back to show you the same error message.

Can any one help in

Thanks

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Please tell me you made a backup before you went ahead with making major changes to your hard disk, without bothering to read the instructions for Boot Camp.

OP
G
Reaction score
system recovery

No indeed I didn't do any back up but I don't care about the data on it , what I wanted to do is to install windows xp beside mac ... do you thing now I have to reinstall mac and bootcamp then windows ?

Thanks

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
No indeed I didn't do any back up but I don't care about the data on it , what I wanted to do is to install windows xp beside mac ... do you thing now I have to reinstall mac and bootcamp then windows ?

Thanks

It certainly sounds like you damaged or removed the OS X partition during the Windows install. It also sounds like your installation disc may be inappropriate or damaged.