USB hub crashes on iMac after sleep

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac mid 2011, 21.5", 2.8GHz, i7, 8GB, 2TB, Lion 10.7.3
Hi, I'm new to macs and I am not sure how the usb ports work with powered usb hubs or how the sleep function works. My hub, a Dlink 7 port powered hub, has worked perfectly with my PC for a couple of years but now I have moved to the iMac it sometimes crashes after my iMac wakes up. Pulling the usb input into the hub from the mac and replacing it resets it.

The crash only seems to happen after the machine has been in a more prolonged sleep and doesn't always happen. However it happens at least once a day, sometimes more.

I would really like to understand what happens when the iMac goes to sleep. What happens to the USB port outputs? Do they turn off or reduce power?

iMac 2.8 i7 21.5 mid 2011 10.7.1
External firewire drive connected for Timemachine.
Plugged in to DUB H7 DLink powered hub: Wacom tablet (old), HP printer D1660, Canon scanner Lide 210, Logitech USB mouse. Only the hub is plugged into the iMac.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Various log files from the system can be read from the Console app (in Application\Utilities). I think the messages you are interested in would be in the system log file but I am not sure. The suspect entries will likely be time stamped at or near the time you attempted to wake the machine. Perhaps others can clarify that. Console logs are not always my best friend.

I had a similar problem some time ago and the exact cause did not appear in the Console logs. The problem could be the hub, as you suspect, or it could be one of the devices attached to the hub. One way to find out is to disconnect all devices from the hub and attempt to duplicate the problem. Gradually add devices back until the problem recurs. The last device added may be at least partially to blame.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs