Odd problem with a printer

Reaction score
My wife and I both have MBPs running Snow Leopard. We have a USB connected HP all-in-one printer ( model f4480). It has not given us problems in the year we have had it.

A few days ago, out of the blue, it started showing "error" in the print que whenever I tried to print anything. Thinking it must be a printer problem, I reset the printer and changed the ink cartridges.

That did not resolve the issue so I connected my wife's machine and it printed fine. This lead me to believe it must be a driver/software issue on my machine. First I updated the driver and that didn't work. Then I deleted the driver and re-installed and that didn't work. Finally, I reset all my printers in my preferences (deleted all printers) and that also did not work. Both of my USB ports seem to work fine for all other peripheral devices (hard drives, jump drives, optical drives, etc..).

At this point I am completely puzzled. I am a HS teacher so having my home printer working is important while planning at home. I do not want to replace the printer because it works fine on my wife's machine. I would appreciate any advice or suggestions.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
NOTE: Edited your title so that those familiar with "printer" issues might take a look at your thread. Also, moved to appropriate forum.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Hi and welcome to the forums toshi.

You seemed to have done a good job at trouble shooting yourself. BC of this, all i can come up with it to Repair Permissions.
Empty Trash
Open Disk Utility via Applications>Utilities.