First MacBook Pro; Suggestions and Opinions, please?

Reaction score
So, I know absolutely nothing about Macs, and I'm looking for some advice before I spend a ton of money on a machine.

I'm about to start college, so I'll be using the Mac for taking notes, writing reports, so on and so forth. I'm a writer, and presently I do a lot of writing on MS Word (using a PC right now), and I also like using programs such as Photoshop and video editors. I'll also need a machine than can handle gaming, as I plan on locking myself in my room all weekend as soon as TES V: Skyrim comes out. (I'm still learning about Bootcamp; I figure I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.)

Right now, the main thing I'm trying to figure out is whether I should go with a Serial ATA hard drive, or get a SSD hard drive. My uncle is also getting a Mac, and he's been sharing some notes with me about hard drives, and it seems the SSD is faster for OS and apps, if not for documents. His plan is to get a 128 SSD and save the OS and apps on it, then save his documents on an external drive, but I think an external hard drive might be a pain to pack around with me on campus and set up for class and stuff.

So I don't know...how do you guys feel about these SSD drives? ...is that redundant?

OP
C
Reaction score
I'm also wondering about RAM, as the two options on the Apple store are:
# 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
# 8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB

I assume that means that for 4GB, you get 2 2GB, etc. I've been reading other forums where people suggest just getting the 4GB from Apple, then buying another 4GB from somewhere else and installing it yourself. Thoughts on that?

THanks!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15