Building 3D models with a Macbook Air 2011

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a budding designer who would like to have a portable computer to create small 3D models of building interiors. This is my future goal/direction that I would like to arrive at one day. I am not presently going to use my Mac for 3D modeling but would like to do so in a year or two from now.

I am totally new to Macs and I am not extremely savvy about the latest capabilities of processors and graphics cards. I have recently puchased a Macbook Air 2011 with 4GB RAM 1.8 Ghtz, i7 Processor with 4MB shared L3 Cache and 256 GB Memory. My reasoning for purchasing the most high end model was 1) I wanted one portable computer which could handle all my needs 2) To keep up with latest technology so I can keep it for as long as possible and 3) Because I think that I will be able to use it for some 3D modeling of interiors using Revit and for namely Photoshop and Illustrator.

However, there is a cheaper model, $400 bucks cheaper that comes with 4GB RAM 1.7 Ghtz Processor, i5 Processor with 3MB L3 Cache and 128Gb of memory. I have two weeks to exhange my model for this less powerful model and save $400.

Hopefully, my hopes about the Air's capabilities are not unfounded.*My hope is this:

I would like to create small interior design models, under 50 MB with textures and materials using my Macbook Air. I would also like to render the models but if worse comes to worse, I will use a desktop to render them. However, I would like to be able to build models with it. Also, i would like to edit the renderings that I create using photoshop as well as other color manipulation activities. I don't think my use of Photoshop or Illustrator will be intense, as I am not a professional at digital imaging.*

1) Anyway, will I be able to do what I want with either of the above the machines?

2) Will the i7 give me an advantage besides a slight speed improvement?