HDD Replacement

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13" 2.5 Ghz i5 with 16GB of RAM and a 1TB SSD.
Hi,
I would really like to update the HDD on my 2010 MBP (before thunderbolt ports) from a 250G HDD to a 500G 7200 RPM HDD or even 10000 RPM's, but I do not want a SSD because I'm a college student and I can't afford it and this is the only time I will upgrade my HDD. I just don't know what will fit in my MBP. Also, will it void my warranty? Can someone please help me?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Any good quality SATA drive that's 2.5" wide and not more than 9.5 mm thick will fit. Right now you can go as high as 750 GB and 7200 RPM. Do not buy a 10,000 RPM drive as it will drain the battery down and may run too warm to be used in a MBP confined space. They're more suited for use in either the Mac G5 or Mac Pro desktops.

And no, you do not void your warranty by upgrading either the hard drive or memory. Of course if you break anything while doing it, Apple will charge for the repair.

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I can only find hdd that are like 9.5 mm and the width as 2.75. Can you recommend a specific one?

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
So, once the new one is installed, what about my OS? It's OS X Lion. I can't re-download it because the maximum college limit of downloading here is like 3.75 G and the OS X is 4 Gigs. It'd also take forever.

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Anyone? I'd really like to order this soon before classes get tough and I don't want to order it until I know everything first.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
So, once the new one is installed, what about my OS? It's OS X Lion. I can't re-download it because the maximum college limit of downloading here is like 3.75 G and the OS X is 4 Gigs. It'd also take forever.