MacPro fans full speed?

Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to mac pros and macs in general.
I opted to buy a used mac pro 2006, 2.0 quad.

The mac installed osx snow leopard fine and boots up fine. Except the fans go crazy as soon as it's switched on. And does not stop.

Only way to stop them is by turning the mac off or putting to sleep.

I have been told to run apple hardware test and it came back clear.
I was then told to use Istat to check the fan speeds.

Figures show approx:
Power suply 599rpm
Exhaust 1547rpm
CPU fan 499rpm
HD expansion 2865rpm

Iv checked that the HD is sitting right. Changed hard drive bays. Changes hard drives. Reset SMC. Reset pram.

Still no joy. Any other ideas?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I'm certainly no expert when it comes to a Mac Pro but it seems to me the only fan that's ramping up somewhat is the HD Expansion. The other fan speeds look normal to me.

However, like I said above.... I don't know too much about the Mac Pro but we have several folks and a staff member who own one and should respond with a better answer. So hang on for a bit.

OP
T
Reaction score
Iv noticed that. I thought it might have been my HD not connecting to the heat sensor. So I got two western digital HDs to be sent to me from the original owner and they still didn't sort the problem.

I'm thinking maybe the heat sensor got unplugged somehow?
Or what Eles causes the HD fans to go crazy?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6