Performance Difference?

Reaction score
Hi folks, I am considering an upgrade to one of the current iMacs. I was wondering if you could tell me if I'm likely to see a significant performance improvement for my specific task.

I am working on an amateur video project using Final Cut Pro X and it is becoming frustratingly slow, especially as my video library increases. I currently run the following system:

MacBook Pro 2.4GHx Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 256 MB

I am considering one of the new iMacs and am not sure as to what my best option would be. Do I need the i7 over the i5? The 27 inch for the faster processor? I'm pretty sure I'll go with 8GB RAM.

I'm not a professional by any means, so won't be stretching for the Mac Pro!

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Your current MBP could certainly use more memory especially when doing any kind of video editing and composing. Have you thought about adding more memory to it first and see how it performs before purchasing a new machine?

If you would rather buy a new iMac instead, purchase the best model with the best graphics that you can afford. You can always add memory yourself later on.

OP
H
Reaction score
Hmm didn't think of that, though I've just looked it up and there seems to be a 4GB RAM limit on my MacBook (late 2008 I think).

P.S. Money isn't *really* a big issue, I just want to get a nice noticeable difference in performance for my investment. But like I say, I'm not a professional so it would be overkill to go all out for the Mac Pro.

If I could convince myself that it's going to fly compared with my MacBook, I'd splash the cash on the i7 iMac with a good 8GB RAM...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2015 27" iMac, 3.3ghz, M395 gpu, 2tb Fusion, 8gb