2YO 24" Intel iMac with a dead logic board? Really?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24" iMac 3.06 ghz 2x2gb 1tb purchased sept 2009
I have been using Macs since about 1990 (Mac SE30). Never had a problem with any of them, until now.

It seems that my unfortunate download of MacKeeper and subsequent uninstall had nothing to do with my screen going white, a mere 2 days after the download. Zapping the PRAM brought back my screen, a few times, but then the screen would go green, orange, red, whatever it felt was the color of the day. I spent way too much time on forums trying to solve the problem, and even took it to a certified Apple repair guy to fix. He is the one who told me about the PRAM and that it probably was the software (MacKeeper). Brought it home and had the same issue.

I found all kinds of interesting fixes on this forum and others: I ran Disk Utililty, AppleJack, Apple Hardware Test, repaired disk permissions and so many other things I don't remember. All of these things said there was no problem with the disk, or that the problem had been repaired, but it wasn't. After a week and a half of searching for a solution, I took it back to the repair guy. After holding on to my iMac without even looking at it for a week, they call me today to tell me that it needs a new logic board—about $850 to repair. No, of course I don't have Apple Care. I have not had a problem with any of my Macs for 20 years, and this one is only 2 years old.

Has anyone heard of a problem like this on a new-ish iMac?

I am leaning toward taking their $200 offer for the parts and putting it toward a new 27" iMac, but then just spent a half hour reading all the problems people are having with WiFi on the new iMacs.

What to do? Any advice folks? Man Oh Man, I am not a happy Apple girl today!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Currently 13" Late 2010 MBA, 4GB/128GB; Early 2011 13" MBP, dual core i7 2.7ghz, 4gb ram, 500gb hd