PB wifi problems - PLEASE HELP

K

kmahesh

Hi,

I have been using 12" PB G4 for the past 6 months or so. Recently I upgraded my router to 802.11g - a Dlink 624. My PB started to lose connectivity very frequently. Two daays back I changed the router to Linksys - WRT54GSV4. Even with this, the wifi is losing connection constantly. My SSID appears for a short time and then vanishes and appears back again. I dont think router is the culprit here. My wife & I are very frustrated with this behavior. I will REALLY appreciate if someone could point me the right direction.

Thanks

Mahesh

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook 17" 1.5GHz, 2GB, 160GB Momentus; iMac 24" 3.06GHz, 2GB; iPhone 2.5G 8GB; iPod 5G 60GB
Have you tried different channels - could be interference. Not got a microwave oven running in the background have you? In my experience of routers and Apple kit, it's nearly always the Apple kit which is fine and the lousy routers which are at fault. Try borrowing an Airport Express and seeing if that works.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro M1 • iPhone 14 Pro • iPad Pro • iMac Retina 27"
Different channels may work.

Also, is there a cordless phone in use in the area? I had a Uniden cordless phone that, every time someone picked it up to make a call, completely whacked my wireless network. I fixed the problem by getting a new phone that operated in a different frequency range.

You may also want to try connecting the PowerBook to the router directly with an ethernet cable to see if the connection is solid that way.

I've had good experiences with Netgear, DLink, and Motorola routers, so I would not be hasty in saying that brands other than Apple are generally not good.

OP
M

Merlinblack

Just a stab in the dark here: