Extremely slow Office 2011 / Word 2011 – NOT at startup

Reaction score
Dear all,

I am a translator, so my work 100% depends on swift operation of Microsoft Word. For some time I’ve been planning to switch to Mac, and now I have a new Mac Mini Server (i7, 4 GB RAM, 7200 rpm HDD) to play with. Besides setting up my network environment I experimented with Office 2011 to see how things will go when/if I purchase a new iMac as my primary desktop computer.

Sadly in my situation there is no substitute for MS Office, and on the Mac only Office 2011 is acceptable. It is related to some professional instruments, so trust me, I know what I am talking about here :)

Any office application starts up in 1-2 seconds, which is very good.
Problems begin later.
First of all, there seems to be small lag in operation of both Word and Excel – in comparison with Windows 2010 versions. Sometime when I type really fast Word does not even manages to display all the letters as I type. The lag here is minimal, but it is really annoying.
The second problem is much more severe. I often need to work with documents in different languages. When I select all text in any Word document, go to Tools – Languages and change the language to another (spell checks of which are supported by my Word), it works REALLY slowly. For the sake of experiment you may select all the text in e.g. German document and select English (US) as the text language. Word is supposed to red-underline every word in this – and it does – SLOWLY.
Now, this is not an issue of track changes / font duplicates etc. I’ve checked it all numerous times. The same process in my Windows Word 2010 happens instantly.

Any advice, please? Or maybe some of you have Word 2011 running on a faster set-up (iMac / Mac Pro) and can try the routine I described and post the results?

Thank you very much in advance!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs