removing attachments from body of text - Mac Mail

Reaction score
I'm new to Mac Mail and am testing the waters somewhat.

I sent a mail with 3 text attachments there, to another web based account, and I noticed before I sent it, the attachments were appearing in the main body as icons. When the mail was received there was a large gap before my text started, the gap being the place where the icons were but not showing.

I was wondering is there anyway you can remove the icons from the main body of the text, and just have the attachments as normal, as in gmail/hotmail?

Thank you in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac OSX Monteray 12.5
Well I sit here like a cartoon with smoke coming out of my ears. For months I had problems with Mac Mail and the whole attachment thing. I do photo montaging and conceptual art and every time I send a jpeg or for that matter any image attachment other than a pdf to my employer, I would get these frantic email messages and phone calls that the images were imbedded and could not be saved.

After many frustrating searches and wasted time, and even after trying the "send window friendly attachments" route, I finally found that the answer was to right click on the image in my email and choose to have it display as an icon.

That worked really well for a while. All of sudden within the past couple of days, everything I send is once more being imbedded in the body of the mail. I have made no changes to my preferences or settings and it is really annoying not to mention a huge waste of time, that I now have to go directly into my gmail account (not the account I work from) to send the email as "saveable" attachments.