Hooking up my Violin to my Macbook Pro

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
I'm quite new at all this sound stuff, but I'd like to hook up my violin to my macbook pro and I have NO idea how.

I am planning on buying this pick up...
LR Baggs Violin Pickups: Best Prices in Canada

So how do I get this pick up attached to my macbook?

Not quite sure I have your question right. You don't attach the pickup to your MacBook Pro, it is integral with a new Bridge which is installed on your violin. It doesn't mention a pre-amp or anything like that, but after you have it installed you would then use a cable and adaptor from the audio output from the Pickup to the Line Input on your MBP (unless you decided to be more sophisticated and use a pre-amp and/or mixer).
Regardless, not really my area of expertise. When Robduckyworth sees this post he will problem weigh in with more informed advice.

OP
K
Reaction score
Yes sorry, that's what i meant.
Once the pick up is installed with the bridge etc. I don't know how to attach it to the macbook.

It's this cable, adapter stuff that i have no idea about.

Also i can't say I have an input line. I just see the mic jack.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Yes sorry, that's what i meant.
Once the pick up is installed with the bridge etc. I don't know how to attach it to the macbook.

It's this cable, adapter stuff that i have no idea about.

Also i can't say I have an input line. I just see the mic jack.

Audio Input (Line Input) is next to the Mic Jack

EDIT: If you have a new 13 inch MBP the Audio Input and Mic Jack are the same port (change configuration in settings for input instead of output)

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
IMHO that pickup is a waste of time and money.