Power Mac info needed

Reaction score
Im new to Macs and need some info..... I got an older G5 without a hard drive so I installed a formatted drive from a Windows computer. I went to Best Buy and bought a Snow Leopard install DVD. I tried to boot from the DVD holding down the C key but the smiley face/? folder just appears. Then I try to to hold down the ALT key but just an arrow and refresh button show up. I zapped the PRAM a few times and nothing..... Any ideas?

OP
C
Reaction score
MAC G5 install Help

Im new to Macs and need some info..... I got an older G5 without a hard drive so I installed a formatted drive from a Windows computer. I went to Best Buy and bought a Snow Leopard install DVD. I tried to boot from the DVD holding down the C key but the smiley face/? folder just appears. Then I try to to hold down the ALT key but just an arrow and refresh button show up. I zapped the PRAM a few times and nothing..... Any ideas?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15

Yes...this is a VERY easy answer. Powermac G5's CANNOT run Mac OS 10.6 Snow Leopard. OS 10.6 requires a Macintosh computer with an Intel cpu...and Powermac G5's do not have an Intel cpu.

HTH,

- Nick

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Threads merged. No need to cross-post. One post in one sub-forum is all that is necessary. Thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
What is the newest version I can install?

OS 10.5 "Leopard" (latest version is 10.5.8). Install DVD's can occasionally be found either on your local Craig's List...and there's always some for sale on e-Bay.

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Be sure to purchase only the black full retail install DVD of Leopard. Do not try to install from the silver/grey discs which are extremely model specific and usually work only with the computer they came with.

OP
C
Reaction score