To update to Lion or not to update

Reaction score
Hello Everyone :)

I've been a mac user for quite a while and right now I'm using a MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard version 10.6.8 with a 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor and 8gb of Memory.

I'm majoring in Web Design and Television Productions (along with Psychology) so I always have to have the latest of the best programs such as the Adobe programs.

I was thinking of updating to Lion but it seems like all of the reviews are either 5 stars or 1 star.

I would absolutely die if I downloaded Lion and it turned my computer into a slurring mess like some people seem to be experiencing.

Speed is something I'm big on since honestly I don't have a lot of patience and when programs don't work it puts me in a tizzy. So my laptop has to remain fast.

My Adobe Programs must work (primarily Photoshop,Fireworks and Dreamweaver) as well as the iWork programs and the Final Cut Studio programs. I could probably work without Microsoft Office but I did just purchase the latest edition of that too so it would be nice if I could still use them.

I know the Adobe Programs are on the compatible list but then some people said in their reviews that they couldn't even open any adobe programs without them crashing the computer and having to shut their computer down and restart it.

Based on what I previously mentioned do you think it's a good idea to upgrade to Lion or should I just stay on Snow Leopard?

Thank you for any help you have no idea how much I appreciate it. :)

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Hello Everyone :)

I've been a mac user for quite a while and right now I'm using a MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard version 10.6.8 with a 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor and 8gb of Memory.

I'm majoring in Web Design and Television Productions (along with Psychology) so I always have to have the latest of the best programs such as the Adobe programs.