is this a good deal for an iMac i3?

Reaction score
i was shopping in Best Buy the other day and i noticed that they had an open box imac i3 (probably a display) for $1099. is this a good deal? i'll be using it for photo editing and some video.

i'm new to Macs and i thought i could buy it to see if i really like them and maybe invest in an i5 or i7 down the road.

is this a sound plan or should i go ahead and invest in a i5 now?

one last thing...this i3 also has a dark sploch down the right side of monitor. it can only be seen if the desktop is solid purple or blue. is this issue something to consider as well? since it's open box, is this something best buy will get fixed or will i be on my own?

sorry for asking so many questions, but after lurking for while it seems as though you guys really know Macs. ;)

thank in advance for your help.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
i was shopping in Best Buy the other day and i noticed that they had an open box imac i3 (probably a display) for $1099. is this a good deal?

Could probably use more info on this iMac i3 (processor speed, amount of ram, video card, HD size)...but with the info so far I would say that it's not a good deal.

You can get this iMac i3 refurbished from the Apple Store for $929 ($170 less than the Best Buy deal):

Refurbished iMac 21.5-inch 3.06GHz Intel Core i3 processor - Apple Store (U.S.)

sorry for asking so many questions, but after lurking for while it seems as though you guys really know Macs. ;)

Yup...that's what we do!;)

HTH,

- Nick

OP
L
Reaction score
thanks for your reply pigoo3.

i apologize i didn't include more detail. i'm at work and i left the specs at home, but from what i can remember it's an 27" iMac 3.1 processor 4gb of RAM and 1TB hard drive. i'm not sure about the video card.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
thanks for your reply pigoo3.