RAM versus Processor Speed

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2.26Ghz 8GB RAM
I'm running a late 2009 Mac Mini 2.26 Ghz with 2 GB RAM and Snow Leopard. It's struggling a little, well more than a little, running Parallels with Windows XP on 500 MB of the RAM. My needs are relatively simple. I'm a web-browser and writer, using Scrivener, Office and various editing programmes, Windows and Mac. I'm not involved in any image manipulation, music editing etc. My question is this. Should I max out my RAM to 4GB or upgrade to the latest Mac Mini and increase RAM to 8GB (I would in any case revert to the faster Snow Leopard)? And to what extent will a faster processor speed up my machine given the type of work I do? I'm a bit confused how RAM and processor differ in their speeding up of the machine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP - Mid 2012 - i7 / iPad Air / iPhone 5s / ATV3
So IMHO, a simple RAM upgrade to your current system would be fine for your needs. You should have at least a couple years before a new system would give you a substantial improvement.

To answer your question about the difference between RAM and CPU, I usually explain it like this:

CPU = how fast your system is
RAM = how much you can do at a time

CPU upgrade will always give you a noticeable improvement.
RAM upgrade will only be noticeable if you don't have enough memory for your current needs. Finding the peak for your usage and system will help. Generally, 4GB is the current peak for most casual users. Most users will not benefit right now from more than that. However, RAM requirements seem to increase fairly steadily. Over the next couple years, 4GB will most likely become a bit on the low end for steady performance and 8GB will begin to become the next standard.

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2.26Ghz 8GB RAM