clean Lion install & Time Machine backup

Reaction score
Greetings

I have a 6 week old MP Pro that I installed my free Lion install on he other day.
I made a bootable disk of Lion so I can do a clean install.

Being a MAC newbie I have some questions

On my Windows PCs I always preferred a clean install of a OS, I prefer to do the same with Lion. Is that overkill on my part?

Once I do the clean install how do I restore my machine using my time machine back up?

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
On my Windows PCs I always preferred a clean install of a OS, I prefer to do the same with Lion. Is that overkill on my part?

Some will say yes, some will say no. I usually just upgrade. For Lion I initially upgraded, but I then I did a clean install just to try it out so I could help answer questions. In my case, I saw no stability or speed difference between the two. Others say they did see a difference.

Once I do the clean install how do I restore my machine using my time machine back up?

It will ask you during the setup process if you want to restore from a Time Machine backup.

OP
R
Reaction score
Some will say yes, some will say no. I usually just upgrade. For Lion I initially upgraded, but I then I did a clean install just to try it out so I could help answer questions. In my case, I saw no stability or speed difference between the two. Others say they did see a difference.

It will ask you during the setup process if you want to restore from a Time Machine backup.

Thank You

Reaction score
Time Machine

I upgraded to Lion (straight upgrade, did not clean install). I have read around the web about people having similar speed issues that I am having (getting really tired of the spinning ball).