What could be wrong with my network connection?

Reaction score
Hello. I'm a complete newbie to the forums here, so thought I would say hi before rushing straight into pleading for assistance. Now that we have that out of the way, let the pleading commence.

So after 3 and a half hours of trying to determine what could be wrong with my network connection on my own, I fully admit to being flabbergasted. So I'll explain my issues here, and if any of you kind gents/ladies could offer any help at all, I'd be very appreciative.

First I'll start with what my set up is(will go ahead and let you guys know I'm not a computer guru at all): Just a plain old Imac that is around 2 years old, I've always connected to the internet with a basic Motorola modem that was provided by my ISP. So basically a wired connection, though sometimes I use airport to connect off of my dumb *** neighbor(seriously it is 2011, who doesn't know how to lock down your wireless network by now), if I am playing around on my Xbox.