iMac won't start, stuck on gray screen troubleshooting and options

Reaction score
Ok I am new to this so I basically have two questions.

1.). I turned my computer off last night. When I turned it on this morning it would only go to the loading screen with the apple and loading circle and it will stay there for about two minutes and the computer will shut off. It's been doing that all day. I called apple and they told me it was a hardware issue and to bring it in. Does anyone know what this is? Is it the end of my computer? Are the repairs going to be very expensive ( Aka more than the price of a new computer?)

2.) if this is the end of my computer, if I get a Mac mini is there anyway to use my iMac as a display?

Computer Info: iMac, g5 late 2006, 17 inch, 1GB ram, intel core 2 duo. It came with tiger and it's been upgrade to leopard. I was going to upgrade to snow leopard and lion this weekend, but... The hard drive and memory are close to full.
Please help if you can. Thanks you guys :)

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You were not going to upgrade to Snow Leopard or Lion anyway because a G5 is a PPC machine and PPC machines can not run SL or Lion.

I'm not all that familiar with the G5 but it does sound like some sort of hardware error. Many of our members here have a G5 or had one and should be able to provide you with an answer. So hang on. And welcome to the Mac Forums.

Edit: Are you sure you have a G5 and not an early Intel iMac? The last G5 machines were made in late 2005.

OP
D
Reaction score
Your right i think it's just a plain old 2006 iMac. I don't know why I thought G5. I would love some help, thank you so much :)

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey