ipad app suggestions/questoins

Reaction score
Greetings all. New to the mac forums (in fact, I've never owned an apple product). With that said, I'm seriously considering picking up a new ipad within the next month or so. I'm an associate pastor of a church (a big part of my job is music related) and I'm wondering what apps you'd recommend for me. Anything from professional/organizational to gaming would be appreciated. (Concerning gaming, I'm wondering if there are any music-game apps that allow songs from my itunes library to be played in-game...kind of like audiosurf.)

As a side note, I see rumors of a new ipad potentially coming out this fall, or at least a 3.0 next spring with a resolution 2 x that of the current ipad. If/when I purchase an ipad, I hope it to last at least 2 years for me, if not 3. With that being said, would it be best to pull the trigger now, or wait until the apple pc in September to see what kind of product(s) may be offered as early as this fall?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM
What kind of music apps? For creation and recording, it is hard to beat GarageBand for iPad ($5). Can't talk on the games part, never looked into those.

As for waiting - Murphy's Law of Electronics:
The day after you buy your equipment the next model will be announced/released.

The longest I would wait would be to see if they actually refresh the current iPad 2 to include new screens. No matter what iPad you get, expect at least 3 years of use, if not more, before getting the battery replaced. As for being able to use it, there should be no reason you cant. Now, upgrading the iOS will stop after a certain point and that is expected of any computer at the end of support life. My iPod Touch (Gen1) still works fine, I can still get apps for it but they have to be useable on iOS 3. iPod Touch Gen 1 does not support iOS 4.