PC to Mac Networking Problem

B

Ben The Baffled

Hi,

was hoping you guys might be able to help with a problem Im having.

I have logged onto my mac (running OSX 10.3) from my PC (running XP) and I can access all files and folders that are on my startup disk but I cant access or see my main hard disk or any other disks that are mounted on my mac.

Is there a way around this? I have searched around for a solution but Im not too familiar with network related jargon, so Im not even sure if im searching for the right things :(

any help would be much appreciated

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
ibook g4, 14'', 1.33 Ghz, 60gig, 768ram, Mac OsX 10.4.3
i guess some folders are protected. that's why u can't see them. maybe you can change your folders' permission.

OP
B

Ben The Baffled

chouk said:
i guess some folders are protected. that's why u can't see them. maybe you can change your folders' permission.

I have read and write access on all the folders, am I being a total noob? is there something else I need to do, in the get info section the folders I cant access have the same ownership and permission settings as the folders I can access.

OP
S

saichapman

how did you do it???

Hi guys iv'e been trying to get my mac to connect to internet through my pc, and i simply can't. I have all of the hardware, but lack experience.please help
thanks
sai

OP
S

saichapman

how did you do it???

saichapman said:
Hi guys iv'e been trying to get my mac to connect to internet through my pc, and i simply can't. I have all of the hardware, but lack experience.please help
thanks
sai

ok so i forgot to say that i have a d link fast ethernet card on my pc, have it connected to my notebook, but don't know how to configure
awaiting answer.
sai

Reaction score
saichapman said:
ok so i forgot to say that i have a d link fast ethernet card on my pc, have it connected to my notebook, but don't know how to configure
awaiting answer.
sai

Do you have a router set up to your PC already?