Strange mac osx color issue

Reaction score
I have an issue that is hard to describe. When I start up my iMac, some shades of light gray are missing. I am 100% sure this is a software issue because I actually had the same issue on my Mac Pro. I was excited to get a fresh start with my new iMac, but my husband surprised me by using time machine to put everything on my iMac when it was first delivered (gee, thanks honey, haha).

Anyway, I can't take a screenshot but if you go to the bbc homepage, BBC News - Home, you can see some light gray boxes (like the background color of the Watch/Listen box on the upper right). These look white until (it took me forever to figure this out) I start up World of Warcraft and put it in full screen. After starting WoW my color is magically fixed. I don't even play WoW these days, I just use it to fix my color. This has become a big annoyance for me, especially since I am a web designer and color is very important! I've tried recalibrating but I just can't seem to get the colors right. Is there a way to reset my colors?

Thanks so much!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
I have an issue that is hard to describe. When I start up my iMac, some shades of light gray are missing. I am 100% sure this is a software issue because I actually had the same issue on my Mac Pro. I was excited to get a fresh start with my new iMac, but my husband surprised me by using time machine to put everything on my iMac when it was first delivered (gee, thanks honey, haha).