Used iMac with out installation disk

Reaction score
I acquired a 21.5" iMac with Ver 10.5.8 software but with no additional disks. I want to be able to back up and have a startup disk similar to my Windows machine. I have never used a Mac before. How do I proceed?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

Go to auction sites such as eBay and look for a Leopard OS X.5 full retail install DVD. Make sure it is a black disc and not a silver/grey system disc which will work only with the model computer it came with. Expect to pay in the vicinity of $100, or even more.

Even better purchase Snow Leopard OS X.6 from the Apple store or online, install and update to OS X.6.8, and later this week purchase as a download the new release OS X.7. The model iMac you describe are 2009, 2010 or 2011 models and all are Intel. These will cost you $29 each, and the Snow Leopard disc will be a boot disc.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Main-11" Air, iPhone 6+, iPad Mini 3, Hi-Fi Extras- Too many to count
The best thing to do would be to get snow leopard and then you can upgrade to lion if your machine is supported.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Is that an echo?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 15" MacBook Pro OS X 10.7.x & some old Macs
Even better purchase Snow Leopard OS X.6 from the Apple store or online, install and update to OS X.6.8, and later this week purchase as a download the new release OS X.7. The model iMac you describe are 2009, 2010 or 2011 models and all are Intel. These will cost you $29 each, and the Snow Leopard disc will be a boot disc.
Just another echo here. :)