MBP 13' (Mid-2010) Boot camp overheating during gaming?

Reaction score
I'm new to this boot camp thing as well as the boards, so please bear with me. :)

I've recently installed WinXP on Bootcamp in order to play Mass Effect 2. I've read (and noticed) how hot can MBP get so I downloaded smcfancontrol to blast my fan full speed (i had no idea my mac has only one fan that I can adjust). I downloaded like three different utilities to see which one can monitor my temperatures best and ever since everyone recommended different ones, I tried several. The problem is, that they all show different levels. What is 60 celsius on one is 75 on other. I know that this is a common question but what is a safe temperature when I can't really even tell what temperature I should be watching (some particular utility that I don't know of?) ? I don't really feel like my MBP is overheating but what do I know? Sometimes utilities indicate temperatures over 80, once even 92.

Can anyone help me? Or am I simply looking into this too much?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Or am I simply looking into this too much?

That.

Your fans are thermostatically controlled... or at least they were, until you started messing around with smcFanControl.

If the machine was actually overheating, it would turn off. It's running hot - and modern computers do that when they're under load.

The best thing you can do is to put it on a hard, flat surface when gaming so that the underbody is not being insulated (by your lap) and it can breathe as it was designed to.

OP
C
Reaction score
Thanks, that calmed me a bit.

So if I restart the system, smcFanControl should no longer control my fans?

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S