Why CMS?!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 13" 2.4 Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GB
All the Content Management Systems just seem so blog-like. Why would you use any of them as opposed to writing your own code? They all just seem so restrictive in what I can do with them and they all feel like a freaking blog. But I know they're useful for clients who don't know code so basically the question is how can I use a CMS to build a site that is as good as my hand written static sites but still has the functionality of and user-friendliness of a CMS?

Reaction score
Not sure what CMS's you have looked into so far, but "restrictive" and "blog-like" doesn't sound like an actual CMS. I'm a web developer myself and have been working with Drupal for the last few years for pretty much all my projects. The advantage is, that you get the basic skeletton for a website with a clean install of a CMS (creating pages, performing tasks, themes, user accounts, ...) and can focus on programming what you really need. If I have a client, who needs a certain functionality, I can usually start writing a module in a local installation of the CMS and when everything is done, deliver a module that can easily be installed.

Also things like content types and permissions make your life a lot easier when it's already available. Would be almost crazy to start something from scratch...

OP
CaldwellYSR
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I'm using joomla and maybe I'm just looking at it in the wrong way. I don't know it's freaking confusing to me. I am very much just a designer not a developer and I'm comfortable with html, css, and a little bit of javascript and jqery but I can't wrap my brain around Joomla! and I don't know why. It seems so easy.

OP
CaldwellYSR
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs