Going to mac..

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new here, and I'm hoping to learn more about Mac here! This week I'm planning to take the big step from windows to mac. But I had a few questions because I am not an expert at computers or mac.

First: Which laptop do I buy? I'm not a graphic designer or anything, the only thing I will use it for is surfing on the internet, writing some stuff down for school and record some music (using garage band I think?).

I think I should go for a Macbook or a MacbookPro 13". But I am not sure which to pick, will the normal Macbook satisfy my needs or will I need a MBP to keep up with updates/new OS..?

Second: I have heard that the new generation of macs has problems with connecting to the internet, is this true? Since that will be the thing I'll be using the most (Facebook, YouTube, school reports (research)).

I hope for a quick and positive response, because I didn't know where to open this topic, and I'm not a native speaker of English, I hope it didn't annoy any of you.

Thanks in advance for the answers!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
MacBook or MacBook Pro - depends on your budget, the Pros do have better processors

Macs have trouble connecting to the Internet? Where did you hear that? - Apple would be in serious trouble if they managed to make computers that had trouble with internet access

OP
B
Reaction score
I can afford both really, but if I can save up 200 euros it would be nice. Someone told me, I don't really remember who did, but he was talking about the '11 or '10 MBP's I think. Not that they can't connect, but that the connection falls away often.

CGI

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MacBook Pro
I am a recent convert myself. I chose the Macbook Pro 13".

I love the size. The power is more than I need. The OS is quality. Mac's build and touch pad are awesome. Great choice!

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs