• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Help with new video camcorder Sony HDR-CX360V

Reaction score
I'm new to mac and recently purchased a sony hdr-cx360v camcorder. Great cam, but it doesnt work with imovie. I have imovie 9 version 8.0.6. I connect the camera via usb and nothing happens.

Do i need to install drivers? Not really sure what to do.

Thanks in advance for your help.

mac osx 10.5.8
macbook 4,1 intel core 2 duo

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
From what I can see your camera has the capability of using SD cards. If you record on an SD card you can pull the card and use a USB card reader to transfer the video. I expect that Apple will eventually update their camera capatibility files for iMovie to include your camcorder, but until they do, this should work.

EDIT: I just noticed you are running Leopard, along with iMovie 9 (not sure if vers 8.0.6 is the latest--I'm not where I can easily check). Bottomline, make sure you keep current on updates as that is where the latest device drivers will be incorportated