3 Options, which one is the best?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2012; Intel i5, Intel HD 4000, 500gb HDD, 13'' screen
I am planning to make the switch this summer to Mac. Being as a college student, I won't need that much speed but I do need a laptop that last 4 years and an Ipad to take notes during class. I have come up with 3 options, in which the price differs a little but is mostly in the same ballpark. Here are my options.

1st Option:
13" MacBook (Core 2 Duo) w/ stock specs
And an Ipad 64GB White

2nd Option:
13" MacBook Pro (i5) w/ stock specs
32GB Black Ipad

3rd Option
13" MacBook Pro (i7) w/ stock specs
16GB Black Ipad

These are my three choices. My budget is $1899 and I can't go over.

Reaction score
Personally, I would go with option 3.

Really the only difference is the iPad size...even 16 GB is nice, and it does the same thing that the other iPad's do. The difference is you will get an amazing laptop which is MUCH better than option 1 (C2D) and definitely better than option 2 (i5)

Take a look at your needs and wants. Is it important to have storage space on the iPad? If yes, maybe option 2 will be most effective because the i5 is still a very nice machine.

If you can afford the newer MBP, I would definitely get one of them over a C2D machine.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
I would go with option 2.

There isn't that much real performance difference between the i5 and i7 13" MBP, and unless you go crazy 32Gb should be more than enough for your iPad.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
2nd Option:
13" MacBook Pro (i5) w/ stock specs
32GB Black Ipad

I think this is a good balance.
The first one no simple bc you said you want to future proof for 4 years and the core2duo is now out. Not saying it want do it, but the i series is is the latest and moving forward.

Cheers